Kaya Sun Defense Daily Use Sunscreen SPF 30 Review

Kaya Sun Defense Daily Use Sunscreen SPF 30 Review

How’s the weather treating you, my friends? If I look outside my window all I see are gray clouds. It is so tempting to skip sunscreen when the sun is always hidden.  In addition to that, most sunscreens that are available are heavy on the skin and quite frankly, don’t feel good. But I try my best not to give in to that temptation! So I’m always on the lookout for that elusive sunscreen that checks all my boxes of performing well and being a pleasure to use. In that quest, I came across this sunscreen on Nykaa.com. It was on discount as well, so I took the plunge and bought it hoping for a new product to love.

Read on below to see how the story unfolds..

sunscreen-for-india

What the brand says:

⦁ A broad-spectrum sunscreen that protects your skin from harmful UVA-UVB rays

⦁ PA++++ shield and Ultra Bootstar rating of 5 ensures highest UVA protection

⦁ Niacinamide, potent whitening active removes tan & lightens skin

⦁ Lightweight, non-greasy formula and PABA free

Price: Rs. 790 for 75 ml

sunscreen-for-oily-skin

Packaging: It comes in a standard squeeze tube packaging with a cheery yellow and white colour. Since it is a tube and comes with a secured cap, it is travel friendly and won’t cause spillage when jostled about in your luggage.

Kaya-Sunscreen-reviews4

Performance:  Kaya Sun Defense Daily Use Sunscreen SPF 30

The sunscreen is a standard white cream. It is not very thick but not runny also and spreads well on the skin.The product packaging clearly mentions that the product USP is that it is lightweight and non-greasy. Well, it failed then and there itself. The moment I put it on my skin, a hundred regrets started floating through my mind. It was definitely not lightweight and felt like a ton of bricks on my skin.

 

Let me clarify that my skin is not that oily as well – it can tolerate mildly heavy creams. But it rebelled against this sunscreen completely.  Trying to be magnanimous, I thought let’s give this sunscreen another chance. The heavy feeling could have been a one-off, right? No, no and nope. All through the summer, whenever I used it (Yes, I used it all throughout the summer trying to make it work!) the heaviness persisted.  There was a noticeable white cast on my skin as well – Not enough to bother me, but yes, it was present.

But the main thing was that it made me sweat like crazy. As for using it under makeup, you can just forget about it. Not what I was looking for at all, especially during summer.In a moment of optimism, I checked the expiry date hoping that an expired product would explain the lack of performance. But no, the date was fine. It’s not all doom and gloom with this product, though. It does have some redeeming features.

It brought a slight calmness to my skin when I applied it to my face. It is also dermatologically tested; so that assurance is there that I’m not applying questionable chemicals to my skin. The price is also fairly reasonable. I did not find it all that expensive when I purchased it, assuming that it would work. But when the strikes started mounting up against it, it turned out to be too expensive for its performance.

Will I recommend this product?

The packaging mentions that the product is meant for all skins. The past few paragraphs will tell you that it is clearly not so. But I think dry-skinned ladies might like this product. The creamy texture might actually play well with skin that needs moisture. But I wouldn’t recommend this sunscreen for combination to oily skins at all, especially if they live in hot and humid places. In the end all I can say is that this product fell far short of ‘love’. It didn’t even come close to ‘like’ for me. But you never know…. another skin type might love it. Anyway, do let me know about your sunscreen stories in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

